Ends on September 30, 2018

Small Press Publisher Award  


AWP’s Small Press Publisher Award is given each year to a press or journal that has consistently demonstrated excellence in the following areas: quality and discernment in curatorship of published work; quality of content; quality of editing; and skill and innovation in design. Nominees will be committed to nurturing the talents of their published authors, supporting their literary communities, and actively engaging in consistent and effective public engagement and outreach. In even years, the award is given to a journal, and, in odd years, to a press. For 2019, we welcome press nominees.  

Eligibility Requirements

The award is given to a press or journal that:

• Has made significant contributions to contemporary literature;
• Is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization;
• Has participated in at least three previous AWP bookfairs, which may include the bookfair held in the year in which the organization is nominated;  
• Has been in operation for five years or more at the time of its nomination; and
• Does not employ current AWP board or staff members, family members of the AWP board or staff, or former AWP board or staff members who have served within the last four years.

Letters of Nomination

Letters of nomination should include an explanation of how the press or journal fulfills the criteria above, as well as a detailed explanation of how the nominated organization has contributed to the literary landscape and shown a commitment to nurturing authors. 

Letters should be two single-spaced pages and include the name, address, and signature of the nominator, as well as contact information for a representative of the organization being nominated. An employee may not nominate his or her own organization for the award. 

Professionals representing different strands of AWP's membership will select the finalists and determine the award winner. Finalists will be announced in November. The recipient will be announced and presented at the Opening Night reception of AWP’s annual conference. The winner will receive a $2,000 honorarium and a complimentary booth at the bookfair following the year the award is presented. Booths are not transferable; winners who choose not to exhibit at the following year’s bookfair may elect to defer usage of the complimentary exhibit space for up to two years. Previous recipients of the award may not be nominated and will not be considered. Nominations will be considered for three years, including the year the nomination is submitted. Letters of nomination are accepted each year between August 1 and September 15 and should be uploaded in PDF format to AWP's Submittable site. Postal submissions will not be considered.